Faculty Honors


Rachel Shelton, ScD, associate professor of Sociomedical Sciences, PI, and colleagues were awarded the 2020 Springer Award for Excellence in Publication in Behavioral Medicine for their paper “What Is Dissemination and Implementation Science?”The award recognizes excellence in publication and contribution to the field through publishing in IJBM, and will be presented at the Opening Ceremony of the International Society of Behavioral Medicine in June. 

Salim Abdool Karim, PhD, professor of global health at the  Mailman School and director of CAPRISA - Centre for the AIDS Programme of Research in South Africa,has been appointed as a member of the World Health Organisation’s Science Council.  The Science Council, comprising 9 of the world’s leading health researchers and chaired by Nobel Laureate Dr Harold Varmus, is being inaugurated on 27 April by WHO’s Director-General. The Council was established by the Dr. Tedros, WHO’s Director-General, as the ‘voice of scientific leadership and will directly advise WHO about high-priority scientific issues.’

Robert Fullilove, EdD, professor of Sociomedical Sciences and associate dean, Community and Minority Affairs, is being honored by JASA, the go-to agency serving older adults in New York City, providing critical services to over 40,000 people annually. Fullilove will receive a special award by JASA at their annual event to recognize and celebrate the dedication of JASA’s frontline workers. Fullilove is being honored for his work promoting COVID-19 vaccine acceptance among diverse communities of older adults, particularly in communities of color.

Linda P. FriedMD, MPH, Dean of Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health, was awarded the George M. Kober Medal, its highest honor, by the Association of American Physicians (AAP), the elected society of the U.S.'s leading physician scientists, for her lifetime scientific and mentorship achievements. Fried served as president of the association in 2016-2017 and was the first dean of a School of Public Health to be president of AAP. Read more.

Quarraisha Abdool Karim, PhD, Professor of Epidemiology and Associate Scientific Director of CAPRISA, was awarded the 2020 prestigious Christophe Mérieux Prize, in the field of infectious diseases in developing countries. Karim received the award in recognition of her pioneering research work ‘resulting from the use of antiretroviral drugs to prevent the sexual transmission of HIV infection in women’ and was recognized as only ‘the sixth woman scientist to receive the biggest prize of the French Academy of Sciences’. Ambassador of France to South Africa, Aurélien Lechevallier, on behalf of the Fondation Christophe et Rodolphe Mérieux-Institut de France and the French Academy of Sciences, bestowed the certificate and medallion to Abdool Karim. Last year, Karim also received an honorary doctorate, Doctor of Science, from the University of Stellenbosch and was named one the most influential Africans in 2020 by the Paris-based publication, Jeune Afrique.

Max O'Donnell, MD, MPH, Associate Professor of Epidemiology and Florence Irving Associate Professor of Medicine and Department of Medicine, Columbia University Irving Medical Center, was selected as a 2021 finalist for the "Top 10 Clinical Research Achievement Awardees" announced by The Clinical Research Foundation. The awardees will be recognized at a special event and at "Translational Science 2021" in late March. He received the award for "Epidemiology, Clinical Course, and Outcomes of Critically Ill Adults with COVID-19 in New York City: Translational Science for Pandemic Severe Respiratory Viral Infection." Read more.

Ashwin Vasan, ScM, MD, PhD, has been appointed to City & State New York's first advisory board to provide valuable insights that will help maintain and improve focus on diversity and inclusion. Read more.

Wafaa El-Sadr, MD, MPH, MPA, founder and global director of ICAP, was selected as a member of the Council on Foreign Relations, the organization dedicated to help achieve a better understanding of the world and the foreign policy choices facing the United States and other countries. Read more.

Linda P. FriedMD, MPH, Dean of Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health, was named to City & State New York's The 2021 Health Power List. Read more.

Morgan Philbin, PhD, assistant professor of sociomedical sciences, was selected a recipient of the 2021 ODP Early-Stage Investigator Lecture by NIH and the Office of Disease Prevention. She is recognized as an early-career prevention scientist who has made substantial research contributions to her respective field and is poised to become a leader in prevention research.