Coordinating Committee

The Coordinating Committee is comprised of experts in building climate resilience and climate-health training, works closely with GCCHE leadership in advising on developing educational aims, crafting curricula, and carrying out other activities. The Coordinating Committee currently includes:

  • John Balbus, MD, MPH, Senior Advisor for Public Health, Director, NIEHS-WHO Collaborating Centre for Environmental Health Sciences;

  • Anneliese Depoux, PhD, Co-Director of the Centre Virchow-Villerm√©, Paris;

  • Robyn Gilden, PhD, RN, Assistant Professor, FCH, University of Maryland, School of Nursing;

  • Dana Haine, MS, K-12 Science Education Manager, Center for Public Engagement with Science, UNC Institute for the Environment, and Environmental Health Educator for the Center for Environmental Health and Susceptibility, UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health;

  • Jay Lemery, MD, FACEP, FAWM, Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine, University of Colorado School of Medicine, Chief, Section of Wilderness & Environmental Medicine;

  • George Luber, PhD, Epidemiologist and former Chief of the Climate and Health Program in the Division of Environmental Hazards and Health Effects at the National Center for Environmental Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention;

  • Gilma Mantilla, MD, MSc, Adjunct Associate Research Scientist, The International Research Institute for Climate and Society (IRI), Professor, Department of Social and Preventive Medicine at Pontificia Universidad Javeriana, Bogota, Colombia;

  • Ruth McDermott Levy, PhD, MPH, RN, Associate Professor & Director of the Center for Global & Public Health, Villanova University, M. Louise Fitzpatrick College of Nursing;

  • Teddie M. Potter, PhD, RN, FAAN, Clinical Professor, University of Minnesota, School of Nursing;


    Todd L. Sack, MD, FACP, Editor,;

  • Caroline Wellbery, MD, PhD, Professor, Department of Family Medicine, Associate Deputy Editor, American Family Physician, Georgetown University Medical Center