Academic Calendar

2021-2022 Academic Calendar (including remaining Summer 2021 dates) – updated June 7, 2021

Columbia Public Health follows closely to but not exactly with the University academic calendar. Registration dates and add/drop/change deadlines are unique to individual schools; be mindful of this when considering cross-registration. A pdf of the information below can be downloaded here. Dates are subject to changes, which will be updated here and communicated to the Columbia Public Health community via Transmission. Please contact msph-osa [at] cumc.columbia.edu (subject: Question%20via%20the%20Mailman%20Academic%20Calendar) (Student Academic Records & Standards (StARS) should you have any questions).

Summer 2021

Instructional Week

Dates

Events

Week 7

(Summer A)

Tuesday, June 16-
Wednesday, June 17

Registration Summer 2021 Session B

 

Monday, June 21

Summer Session A ends

Week 1

(Summer B)

Monday, June 28

Summer Session B begins

 

Monday, June 28-
Friday, July 9

Change of Program Period - add/drop via SSOL
No adjustment of fees for individual courses dropped after this period.

 

Monday, July 5

NO CLASSES – Independence Day (observed)

Week 2

Friday, July 9

Deadline to make changes - Summer Session B
Last day to drop w/o UW
Last day to change grade option

Week 3

Tuesday, July 13-
Thursday, July 15

Registration 1 Fall 2021
(continuing students)

Week 5

Wednesday, July 28

Deadline to reconcile Spring 2021 INs
(continuing students)

 

Monday, August 2

Applications due for October degree conferral

Week 7

Tuesday, August 10-
Monday, August 16

Last, regularly scheduled, in-class meetings/exams

 

Monday, August 16

Summer Session B ends

 

Fall 2021

  

Instructional Week

Dates

Events

 

Tuesday, August 17-
Thursday, August 19

Registration 2 Fall 2021
(continuing students)

Orientation

Week

Monday, August 30

New Student Orientation (through Friday, September 3)

 

Tuesday, August 31-
Thursday, September 2

Registration for Fall 2021
(new students)

Students must be registered for at least one class prior to the first day of each semester or be charged a late registration fee.

 Week 1

Monday, September 6-

Wednesday, September 8

NO CLASSES

 

Thursday, September 9

Fall semester begins (incl. 1st quarter term)

Change of Program Period OPENS - add/drop via SSOL

Week 2

Monday, September 13

 
 

Wednesday, September 22

Change of Program Period CLOSES - add/drop via SSOL
No adjustment of fees for individual courses dropped after this period.

Week 3

Monday, September 20

 
 

Thursday, September 23

Deadline to make changes - 1st quarter term
Last day to drop w/o UW
Last day to change grade option

Week 4

Monday, September 27

 

Week 5

Monday, October 4

 
 

Thursday, October 7

Deadline to make changes - Full semester
Last day to drop w/o UW
Last day to change grade option

Week 6

Monday, October 11

 

Week 7

Monday, October 18

Deadline to reconcile Summer 2021 INs

 

Thursday, October 21

October degrees conferred

 

Sunday, October 24

American Public Health Association (APHA) Annual Meeting (through Wednesday, October 27)

Week 8

Monday, October 25

 

 

Wednesday, October 27

1st quarter term ends

 

Thursday, October 28

2nd quarter term begins

Week 9

Monday, November 1

NO CLASSES

 

Tuesday, November 2

No classes - Election Day

Week 10

Monday, November 8

1st quarter grades due (faculty)

 

Thursday, November 11

Deadline to make changes - 2nd quarter term
Last day to drop w/o UW
Last day to change grade option

Week 11

Monday, November 15

 

Week 12

Monday, November 22

 
 

Wednesday, November 24-
Friday, November 26

No classes - Thanksgiving Holiday

Week 13

Monday, November 29

 
 

Wednesday, December 1

Applications due for February degree conferral

Week 14

Monday, December 6

 
 

Tuesday, December 7

Registration 1 Spring 2022
(priority students)

 

Wednesday, December 8-
Thursday, December 9

Registration 1 Spring 2022
(all students)

Week 15

Monday, December 13

 
 

Thursday, December 16-
Friday, December 17

Last, regularly scheduled, in-class meetings/exams (through Wednesday, December 22)

Week 16

Monday, December 20-
Wednesday, December 22

Last, regularly scheduled, in-class meetings/exams

 

Thursday, December 23

Semester ends*
Final due-date for Fall 2021 deliverables/take-home exams
*School make-up date

 

Friday, December 24, 2021-Monday, January 17, 2022

No classes - Winter Holidays

 

Tuesday, January 4, 2022

Fall 2021 full semester and 2nd quarter grades due (faculty)

 

Spring 2022

Instructional Week

Dates

Events

 

Tuesday, January 11-
Thursday, January 13, 2022

Registration 2 Spring 2022
(all students)

Students must be registered for at least one class prior to the first day of each semester or be charged a late registration fee.

Week 1

Tuesday, January 18

Spring semester begins (incl. 1st quarter term)

Week 2

Tuesday, January 18-
Monday, January 31

Change of Program Period - add/drop via SSOL
No adjustment of fees for individual courses dropped after this period.

Week 3

Tuesday, February 1

Applications due for May degree conferral
Deadline to make changes - 1st quarter term
Last day to drop w/o UW
Last day to change grade option

Week 5

Tuesday, February 15

Deadline to make changes - Full semester
Last day to drop w/o UW
Last day to change grade option

 

Monday, February 21

Columbia Public Health follows the CUIMC non-clinical and University academic calendars. Classes meet as normal on Presidents Day.

Week 6

Wednesday, February 23

Deadline to reconcile Fall 2021 INs

 

Monday, March 7-
Friday, March 11

No classes - Spring Break

 Week 8

Monday, March 14

Classes resume
1st quarter term ends
(last meeting of 1st quarter Monday classes)

Tuesday, March 15

2nd quarter term begins
(first meeting of 2nd quarter Monday classes is March 21)

 Week 10

Tuesday, March 29

2nd quarter term 
Last day to drop w/o UW
Last day to change grade option

Week 11

Tuesday, April 5

IPE Day

Week 14

Tuesday, April 26-
Monday, May 2

Last regularly scheduled, in-class meetings/exams

 

Tuesday, May 3
*Monday, May 9

School make-up dates
Final due-dates for Fall 2021 deliverables/take-home exams
*Semester ends

 

Friday, May 13

Spring 2022 full semester and 2nd quarter grades due for students having their degrees conferred May 2022 (faculty)

Commencement

Week

Wednesday, May 18

University Commencement

 

Summer 2022

Instructional Week

Dates

Events

Week 1

Tuesday,  May 24

Summer semester begins (incl. Summer A term)