Events

Climate and Health Rapid Response: Wildfires in the Mediterranean

REGISTER HERE 

September 29: 11am New York / 6 pm Amman 

The Mediterranean has become a “climate hotspot,” with record heat and drought driving some of the most intense blazes on record for the region. These highly interconnected climate risks have resulted in compounding environmental health exposures for the region’s inhabitants. This webinar seeks to elevate the health voice by bringing together clinical, public health and emergency response experts to assess emerging health impacts and explore opportunities for bolstering health system responses to safeguard human health.

                                                                                                                          

 

MS4SF x HCWH Journal Club: Matthew Eckleman Ph.D.

REGISTER HERE

September 30: 6:30pm EST

Over the past 5 years health professional schools have increasingly been called upon to incorporate climate change, environmental determinants of health, and sustainability into their infrastructure, curricula, and research programs. Health professional students have been at the forefront of this conversation. Join us on September 23rd as we learn from leaders of the Planetary Health Report Card and Medical Students for a Sustainable Future as they discuss how they have addressed these points at various levels at institutions across the country. 

The climate and health journal club, hosted by the Health Care Without Harm Physician Network and Medical Students for a Sustainable Future, is an opportunity to discuss recent articles about the intersection between climate change, health and health care with climate-smart physicians and health care emissions researchers. 

Medical students and physicians are invited to join us for our next session on Sept. 30, 6:30 p.m. ET. Matthew Eckleman Ph.D. will discuss “Cataract surgery and environmental sustainability: Waste and lifecycle assessment of phacoemulsification at a private healthcare facility.”

 

Climate and Health Science Fellows Panel

REGISTER HERE

October 6: 6 pm - 7 pm CST / 7 pm - 8 pm EST

Want to learn about the intersection of health and climate change? Interested in how to advocate for environmental sustainability for your patients now and in the future? Join Dell Med's EHIG for a Q&A panel
with the only Climate and Health Science Fellows in the nation at CU Anschutz Medical Campus.

 

Planetary Health Report Card (PHRC) Conference 2021

REGISTER HERE

October 16: 16:00-20:00 BST, 08:00-12:00 PST and 11:00-15:00 EST

The Planetary Health Report Card (PHRC) is launching an annual virtula conference. Talks from experts in the field planetary health will be followed by a panel Q&A. Student presenters will discuss climate and health education advances they have made at their respective institutions. We hope that this conference can kickstart our journey this year as we get ready for another year of pushing for planetary health education. The full programme will be released closer to the date. Please register your interest via this google form and we will keep you updated.

 

Climate Change & Health: Implications for Clinical Practice

WEBSITE      CME REGISTRATION      GENERAL REGISTRATION

October 22: 8 am - 5:30 pm EST

The Climate Change and Health: Implications for Clinical Practice symposium through Ohio State University will educate and inspire healthcare professionals and students to take actionable steps to help reduce the health harming impacts of climate change by providing tools to develop implementable solutions on an individual, department or organization-wide level as well as showcase opportunities for advocacy to foster positive change at all legislative levels. CME credits are available. 

 

Clinical medicine in the context of planetary health

REGISTER HERE

Start November 3, Wednesdays 5 pm - 6:30 pm CET / 11 am - 12:30 pm EST

Pllanetary Health Academy presents the launch of "Clinical medicine in the context of planetary health." This will consist of 9 lectures in German starting on November 3, 2021 with lectures every Wednesday 5 pm - 6:30 pm CET (11 am - 12:30 pm EST). Sessions will be taught by experts from a variety of clinical fields. More information can be found here

Webinars

Public Policy Projects, Environment and Health series, "Exploring the links between climate change, air quality and health", July 14, 2021, 8:00–9:00am BST. 

Planetary Health Report Card and Medical Students for a Sustainable Future Webinar. Recordigs and links will be posted shortly, September 23, 2021, 5 pm PST/ 8 pm EST

Project ECHO, Climate Change and Human Health Office Hours: A Continuous Conversation Series; beginning July 21, 2021; Wednesdays 12:00 - 1:00 PM MT 11:00am - 12:00pm PT / 2:00 - 3:00pm ET / 6:00 - 7:00pm UTC.

Florida Clinicians for Climate Action, Understanding the Climate Crisis as a Public Health Crisis, FCCA Spring & Summer Speaker Series, March-July, 2021.

NIH-EPA Environmental Health Disparities Research Webinar Series, 3:00 – 4:30 p.m. EST on June 28, September 27, October 25 & November 22, 2021.

Climate Conversations: Extreme Weather. National Academies of Science, Engineering, and Medicine. September 15, 2021 3 pm EST. 

Conferences

Asia-Pacific Climate Week 2021, hosted by the Government of Japan, July 6-9, 2021.

9th Annual International Conference on Sustainable Development, Research for Impact: An Inclusive and Sustainable Planet, September 20-21, 2021.

University of Washington, Nature & Health conference, "Nature & Health 2021: Generating understanding across communities and disciplines"; Greater Tacoma Convention Center, Washington state; October 12-14, 2021.