Ronald Bayer, PhD, has pioneered the development of an ethics of public health. His research is focused on AIDS, tuberculosis, and tobacco. He is an elected member of the Institute of Medicine and is Chair of the WHO’s Network of Bioethics Collaborating Centers.


David Rosner, PhD, is focused on the history of public health, workers’ and environmental health. He is a Guggenheim Fellow, NEH Fellow and was elected to the Institute of Medicine in 2010.  In 2014 he was awarded the John McGovern Prize by Sigma Xi, the honorary science society.  He is author and co-author of 11 books. 


Amy Fairchild, PhD, MPH, works at the intersection of history and policy. Her research centers on privacy and the surveillance state, the uses and abuses of fear and panic, and harm reduction, precaution and the politics of electronic cigarettes. She is Co-Chair of the Center’s WHO Bioethics Collaborating Center. 


James Colgrove, PhD, MPH, studies the relationship between individual rights and the collective well-being and the social, political, and legal processes through which public health policies have been mediated in American history. 


Kavita Sivaramakrishnan, PhD, is interested in the history of ideas and actors shaping global health and the politics of medicine and science. Her research has been anchored in the context of  medicine and plural medical knowledge in late colonial south Asia, and also explores the emergence of international networks of expertise relating to aging populations, the recasting of chronic diseases such as cancers and heart disease in 'tropical' contexts, and the circulation of medical knowledge between Asia and Africa in the decades of decolonization and international health. 

Image of Merlin ChowkwanyunMerlin Chowkwanyun, Phd, MPH, focuses issues of community organizing and health activism. In addition, he is examining the strengths and limits of racial disparities research. He was a Robert Wood Johnson Scholar from 2013-2015 and is the first faculty member to hold the Donald H. Gemson Chair in the History and Ethics of Public Health.




Affiliated Faculty

Elizabeth Blackmar
Matthew Connelly
Matthew Jones
Gerald Markowitz
Gerald Oppenheimer
Samuel Roberts
Pamela Smith