2015 Faculty Honors

Federica Perera, DrPH, PhD, professor of Environmental Health Sciences and director of the Columbia Center for Children’s Environmental Health, was selected by the Environmental Advocates of New York to recieve its 2015 Advocate Award. Read more.

Alwyn Cohall, MD, professor of Sociomedical Sciences and director of the Harlem Health Promotion Center, received the New York State Department of Health Commissioner’s Award for his work in the field of HIV/AIDS at World AIDS Day 2015 at the Empire State Plaza Convention Center in Albany. Read more.

Mark Hatzenbuehler, PhD has been selected as the recipient of the 2016 Award for Distinguished Contributions to Psychology in the Public Interest (Early Career), presented by the American Psychological Association's Committee on Psychology in the Public Interest Awards. Read more.

Wafaa El-Sadr, MD, MPH, professor of Epidemiology and director of ICAP, is the inaugural recipient of a new Columbia endowed professorship in global health at the Mailman School of Public Health. Dr. El-Sadr was named the Dr. Mathilde Krim-amfAR Chair of Global Health. Read more.

Linda P. Fried, MD, MPH, dean and DeLamar Professor of Public Health, was named one of Next Avenue 2015 Influencers in Aging, a list of 50 innovators and thought leaders who are changing how we age and think about aging in America. Read more.

Mary Gamble, PhD, associate professor of Environmental Health Sciences, for her paper on low-dose creatine supplementation named “Editor’s Pick” by The Journal of Nutrition.

Sacrifice Along the Energy Continuum: A Call for Energy Justice by Sociomedical Sciences assistant professor Diana Hernandez, PhD, was the top-read article in Environmental Justice, a publication of the EPA.

Mary Beth Terry, PhD, professor of Epidemiology, and Rachel Miller, MD, co-deputy director of the Columbia Center for Children’s Environmental Health, are leading a new NIH-funded Breast Cancer and Environmental Research Program (BCERP). The Mailman School and CUMC is one of six new research centers that will focus on prevention among minority and socially disadvantaged women.

Quarraisha Abdool Karim, associate professor of Epidemiology, has been named one of five “exceptional laureates” of the 2016 prestigious L’Oréal-UNESCO Women in Science Award for her “remarkable contribution to the prevention and treatment of HIV and associated infections, greatly improving the quality of life of women in Africa.” Read more.

Guohua Li, Finster Professor of Epidemiology and Anesthesiology, and the founding director of Columbia’s Center for Injury Epidemiology and Prevention, will receive the American Public Health Association’s Excellence in Science Award for his outstanding leadership in the science of injury/violence prevention and control and for his significant and long term impact on the field. Read more.

Mark Hatzenbuehler, associate professor of Sociomedical Sciences and co-director for the Center for the Study of Social Inequalities and Health, was named recipient of the 2015 Louise Kidder Early Career Award from The Society for the Psychological Study of Social Issues. Read more.

Kim Hopper, professor of clinical Sociomedical Sciences, has been selected as the 2015 recipient of the George Foster Practicing Medical Anthropology Award by the Society for Medical Anthropology of the American Anthropological Association. Read more.

Gina Lovasi, assistant professor of Epidemiology, was named a Columbia Aging Center Faculty Research Fellow as part of the first cohort. 

Dean Linda P. Fried, was named the 2015 Lorraine and Ralph Lubin Distinguished Visiting Professor at Weill Cornell Medical Center. Dean Fried was chosen for her achievements in the field of epidemiology and as a role model for students.

Frederica Perera, professor of Environmental Health Sciences and director of the Columbia Center for Children’s Environmental Health, was awarded the second annual Jean and Leslie Douglas Pearl Award by the Cornell Douglas Foundation for her pioneering work in the field of molecular epidemiology.

In recognition for her role leading the implementation of a pioneering curriculum for the Mailman School’s signature Master’s in Public Health, Dean Linda P. Fried was guest editor of "Innovations in Public Health Education," a special online supplement of the American Journal of Public Health, featuring perspectives on the need to re-invigorate public health by making sustained changes to the way it delivers an education.

Alfredo Morabia, professor of Epidemiology, was named as new editor-in-chief of the American Journal of Public Health, effective June 2015.

"Structural Approaches in Public Health," co-edited by Sociomedical Sciences professors Marni Sommer, DrPH, and Richard Parker, PhD, was selected as a Choice Outstanding Academic Title of 2014.

Assistant Professor of Population and Family Health Melissa Stockwell, was elected to the Society for Pediatric Research, which fosters research and career development for those engaged in the health and wellbeing of children.

The American Institute of Architects (AIA), the AIA Foundation, and the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture named Columbia’s Mailman School of Public Health and Graduate School of Architecture, Planning, and Preservation as charter members of the AIA Design and Health Research Consortium. The initiative, led by Andrew Rundle, associate professor of Epidemiology and co-director of the Obesity Prevention Initiative, will help fund basic research on how design affects public health.

Elaine Larson, professor of Epidemiology, was selected by the New York Academy of Medicine as the 2014 recipient of the John Stearns Medal for Distinguished Contributions in Clinical Practice.