2010 Faculty Honors

Lawrence Yang, assistant professor of Epidemiology, was awarded the 2010 Henry Tomes Award for Significant Contributions by an Emerging Leader, in recognition of his research on stigma in China around schizophrenia. The award is given by the Council of National Psychological Associations for the Advancement of Ethnic Minority Interests. Through the National Alliance for Research on Schizophrenia and Depression (NARSAD), Yang also leads a project on stigma among adolescents, examining the impacts of the new high-risk for psychosis designation on adolescents as they transition to adulthood.

Bhaven Sampat, assistant professor of Health Policy and Management, was awarded a grant from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation's Public Health Law Research program to study legal and regulatory barriers to cheaper medications.

Miriam Laugesen, assistant professor of Health Policy and Management, received a Robert Wood Johnson Investigator Award in Health Policy Research for her work examining why Medicare payment reforms fell short of their original objectives to contain costs and equalize pay gaps between primary care physicians and specialists.

Richard Parker, professor of Sociomedical Sciences, was named to Columbia University's prestigious Committee on Global Thought. Parker will be involved in the development of a Master's degree in conjunction with the School of Arts and Sciences, a research agenda, and a program with the Global Centers.

Sherry A. Glied, professor and former chair of Health Policy and Management, was named assistant secretary for Planning and Evaluation at the United States Department of Health and Human Services.

Tom K. Hei, professor of Environmental Health Sciences, vice chair of Radiation Oncology, and associate director of the Center for Radiological Research, was named president of the Radiation Research Society for a three-year term ending in 2013. He will be the fourth president of RRS from the Center for Radiological Research.

W. Ian Lipkin, John Snow Professor of Epidemiology and director of the Center for Infection and Immunity, was named co-chair of the Center for Disease Control's National Biosurveillance Advisory Subcommittee. He serves as co-chair with Jeffrey Angle, North Carolina state health director.

James Colgrove, PhD, associate professor of Sociomedical Sciences, is the recipient of the 2010 Mailman School Teaching Excellence Award, given at Commencement. Colgrove developed and teaches Coercion and Persuasion in Public Health: Ethical and Historical Perspectives. The award honors a faculty member who inspires and challenges students and whose innovative approaches to learning have a lasting impact on Mailman School graduates.

Linda Cushman, PhD, associate clinical professor of Population and Family Health, and Michael Sparer, PhD, JD, professor and chair of Health Policy and Management, have been named recipients of Columbia University's 2010 Presidential Teaching Award for Excellence. The annual award was established in 1996 to recognize faculty members who demonstrate academic excellence and an outstanding commitment to the university and its students. It was presented to this year's five recipients at the university-wide Commencement.

Moise Desvarieux, MD, DMM, PhD, associate professor of Epidemiology, has received the Dean's Excellence in Leadership Award for his commitment to expand the global scope of the Mailman School. His contributions include helping to create a collaborative exchange between the School and the École des Hautes Études en Santé Publique in France as well as the Columbia Global Centers/Europe in Paris.

Wafaa El-Sadr, MD, MPH, director of the International Center for AIDS Care and Treatment Programs and professor of Epidemiology and Medicine, delivered the baccalaureate address and was awarded an honorary Doctor of Science at Boston University's 137th commencement on May 16. El-Sadr was one of five honorary degree recipients.

Ilan Meyer, PhD, associate professor of Clinical Sociomedical Sciences and deputy chair for MPH programs in the Sociomedical Sciences, received the inaugural Sociomedical Sciences Faculty Mentoring Award. The award celebrates the mentoring that junior faculty receive from more senior faculty members. Meyer was selected by junior faculty in sociomedical sciences for his exceptional mentorship and steadfast commitment to junior faculty.

Martina Pavlicova, PhD, assistant professor of Biostatistics, is the inaugural recipient of the 2010 Mailman School Early Career Teaching Award, presented at commencement. The award is presented to an assistant professor who best represents the school's commitment to student learning and educational excellence. Pavlicova teaches, and collaborated in the redesign of, Introduction to Biostatistics, a core course for the MPH program.

W. Ian Lipkin, MD, and Stephen S. Morse, PhD, were elected Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Election as a Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers. Lipkin, the John Snow Professor of Epidemiology and professor of Neurology and Pathology (P&S), was selected for distinguished contributions to pathogen discovery and to understanding mechanisms of  microbial pathogenesis. Morse, professor of Clinical Epidemiology, was selected for pioneering innovation in global health and epidemiology as originator of the concept of "emerging infections" and of infectious disease surveillance using the Internet.