Leadership Team


Linda P. Fried, MD, MPH 
Dean and DeLamar Professor of Public Health

Dean Fried is a world-renowned geriatrician and epidemiologist. Dean since 2008, she led the transformation of Columbia Public Health’s MPH and doctoral programs to interdisciplinary education that provides strong grounding in public health and expertise for leadership in the 21st Century. Under her leadership, the School has developed novel translational programs in interdisciplinary science, including health impacts of climate change; lifecourse bases for achieving public health; data science for health; and the creation of the Program in Global Health Justice and Governance, the Lerner Center for Public Health Promotion and the Robert N. Butler Columbia Aging Center.

Vice Deans

Ying Kuen Cheung
Vice Dean for Faculty
Professor, Biostatistics


Dr. Ying Kuen K Cheung's primary research interests include experimental design, with an expertise in early phase clinical trials in cancer and stroke, both significant public health concerns especially in the aging population. Efficient statistical designs facilitate the screening of potential treatments and identification of appropriate dose ranges of treatments, while maintaining the safety of consented patients. Dr. Cheung has served on the steering committee or as an investigator in many Mailman School and Columbia-initiated and commercially-sponsored studies.

Michael Joseph, PhD
Vice Dean for Education
Associate Professor of Epidemiology


Dr. Joseph is a highly regarded teacher and curricular innovator, whose educational contributions and approach have been recognized locally, nationally and internationally. Dr. Joseph provides academic guidance for the Mailman School’s education portfolio, which enrolls more than 1400 students from around the world in doctoral and master’s degree programs. As Vice Dean, he leads the Columbia MPH and directs a range of support services, including admissions and financial aid, student affairs, and career services.

Gary W. Miller, PhD
Vice Dean for Research Strategy and Innovation
Professor of Environmental Health Sciences


Dr. Miller moved to Columbia University in 2018 after 16 years at Emory University. Dr. Miller is the founding director of the HERCULES Exposome Research Center at Emory University, the first exposome-based research center in the U.S. He authored the first book on the topic, The Exposome: A Primer. His research focuses on environmental drivers of neurodegeneration. In his vice dean role, Dr. Miller partners with faculty to further their research success and serves as a catalyst to propel interdisciplinary work throughout the School.

Elizabeth Tashiro 
Interim Vice Dean for Finance and Administration

Administrative Leadership

Raygine DiAquoi, EdD
Assistant Dean, Office of Diversity, Culture, and Inclusion 
Assistant Professor, Sociomedical Sciences


Dr. DiAquoi is responsible for developing a rich agenda of activities and programs that promote the recognition and understanding of historical and current social inequalities, and facilitating action steps in our institution, community, and in the broader field of public health to eliminate them. Prior to joining the School, she provided training and support to communities and educational institutions to improve the academic experiences of marginalized populations.

Vanita Gowda, MPA
Chief Communications Officer

Ms. Gowda is a strategic communications and advocacy professional with more than 20 years’ experience in the public and private sectors, focusing on initiatives to improve the health and well-being of vulnerable and underserved populations around the world. She started her career as a reporter in Washington DC, covering Capitol Hill and national affairs. Vanita earned her MPA from Columbia’s School of International and Public Affairs and earned her BA from the College of William & Mary.

Bethany Jankunis, MSW, JD
Chief of Staff

Ms. Jankunis serves as a top strategy and implementation partner to the Dean, coordinating the efforts of various levels of School leadership and overseeing all aspects of functioning of the Dean’s office. Prior, Ms. Jankunis was Chief of Staff for the Provost at New York University’s School of Engineering, then Assistant Vice President for Administrative Planning and Initiatives, reporting to the School’s President.  Previously, Ms. Jankunis worked as a Policy Advisor to the New York City Comptroller, then as Chief of Staff for New York State Assembly member and Higher Education Chair Deborah Glick. She holds an MSW from the Hunter College School of Social Work and a JD from Fordham Law School.

Center Directors

Center for Infection and Immunity
W. Ian Lipkin
Director and John Snow Professor of Neurology/Pathology 
Administrative Contact: Kelly Magnus (kh2907@cumc.columbia.edu)

Wafaa El-Sadr
Director and Mathilde Kfrim-amfAR Global Chair, University Professor
Administrative Contact: Mkeba Cason (mtc2101@cumc.columbia.edu)

Department Chairs

Kiros Berhane
Chair and Cynthia and Robert Citron-Roslyn and Leslie Goldstein Professor
Administrative Contact: Sonia Lyn (svl1@cumc.columbia.edu)

Environmental Health Sciences
Andrea Baccarelli
Chair and Leon Hess Professor
Administrative Contact: Fernando L. Luque (fll2112@cumc.columbia.edu

Charles Branas
Chair and Gelman Endowed Professor
Administrative Contact: Laura Goldenkranz (lag2172@cumc.columbia.edu)

Health Policy and Management
Michael Sparer
Chair and Professor
Administrative Contact: Rebecca Schoenfeld (rs3665@cumc.columbia.edu)

Population and Family Health
Terry McGovern
Chair and Harriet and Robert H. Heilbrunn Professor
Administrative Contact: Jenny Cheng (jc5261@cumc.columbia.edu)

Sociomedical Sciences
Kathleen Sikkema
Chair and Stephen Smith Professor
Administrative Contact: Yasmin Davis (yj12@cumc.columbia.edu)