50th Anniversary Celebration

On Thursday, April 11, 2019, members of the Columbia Mailman community gathered to celebrate the Department's history, accomplishments, and vision for the next 50 years. The program featured reflections by faculty, alumni, and the incoming chair, Kathleen Sikkema, PhD.

Over the past 50 years, faculty have published thousands of peer-reviewed articles in the highest impact journals of public health, medicine, and the social sciences, and written dozens of books published by leading presses. SMS has educated more than 500 doctoral students and more than 2,500 master’s students who now hold leadership positions in academia and public and private health agencies. The department has conducted training and capacity building for members of the public health workforce and provided services to vulnerable communities through outreach programs.

Read more about the event and its highlights here. 

We are grateful for the involvement of the faculty, students, staff, and alumni who contributed to the celebration, including:

Ronald Bayer, PhD, Merlin Chowkwanyun, PhD, Chelsea Davis, MPH, Yasmin Davis, James Colgrove, PhD, Robert E. Fullilove, EdD, Dean Linda P. Fried, MD, MPH, Daniel Giovenco, PhD, Sara Shoener, DrPH, Kathleen Sikkema, PhD, Mark Hatzenbuehler, PhD, Diana Hernandez, PhD, Kim Hopper, PhD, Nadia Islam, PhD, Marita Murrman, EdD , Azure Nowara, MPH, Chinwe Onyekere, MPH, Morgan Philbin, PhD, Yusuf Ransome, DrPH, Michelle Rivera-Lopez, CTP , David Rosner, PhD, Sara Samuel, MPH, PhD Candidate, Hector Sanchez-Perez, MPH Candidate, Rachel Shelton, ScD, Karolynn Siegel, PhD, Marni Sommer, DrPH, Patrick Wilson, PhD, and Michael Yudell, MPhil, PhD